The “Magic Pill” Has Arrived

Eureka – defined as, “an exclamation of triumph on discovering or solving something.” After many years of struggle and strife; many years of reading, writing, and being in the trenches; I have stumbled upon a solution to our issue of unhealthy lifestyles. Before my big reveal, let me add that I plan to market and package my solution to the world very soon. It will be available for a nominal fee, require no assembly, and can be accomplished anywhere and anytime. I’m calling the “magic pill”…GET UP AND MOVE!

Here’s a great quote, “The difference between try and triumph is a little umph.” -Anon

Enough is enough

I’ve had it. I’m ready to start firing the clients and athletes who come in for a session and are already complaining, already looking at the clock, already rolling their eyes at the upcoming exercise.

**Of course I’m not referring to any of my clientele personally; this is simply observational in nature.

People are too busy making excuses, looking for the path of least resistance, and waiting around for some magic pill or miracle cure. It’s been here the whole time and it’s literally right under your nose. GET UP AND MOVE!

I’m so tired of excuses. I can see why coaches and trainers get “burnt out”; they are surrounded by “Negative Nancy” and “Grumpy Gus” all day. There is far too much negativity. Your thoughts become your words, your words become your actions, and your actions become your habits. People need a “Harajuku moment”, which is a revelation or awakening that turns an “oh, that would be nice” event into a “that must and will happen” event. It’s the “ah-ha” moment in time where you stop thinking and start doing. It’s where you stop aiming and start firing. It’s where you stop sitting, and eating, and drinking…and start making a difference in your life. GET UP AND MOVE!

I’m too busy

I’ve trained individuals of all shapes, sizes, and backgrounds, and one thing is consistent; everyone is busy. I’ve never heard anyone ever say that they had too much time on their hands. We need to remove that phrase from the “excuse library”. No one has enough time in their day to get everything done. I get it. My response – too bad, get over it. It’s not a valid excuse in my book.

Can you really not carve out 30 minutes into your day a few times a week? Even 3 or 4 hours out of the 168 that are available in a week? I’m here to say that you can do it if you want to. You need to make your health a priority in your life. Try turning off the Playstation, computer, or TV and going for a walk around the block. There will be a re-run of the latest “The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills” on later so you won’t miss Camille Grammer’s latest spa appointment.

No money, no membership

Sorry, no sympathy here. There are so many exercise options out there today that not having enough money is another poor excuse. Try P90X, purchase a TRX (LINK HERE), buy a Zumba DVD, use your own bodyweight (article link HERE), practice tai chi in your backyard. Some methods are not for everyone and may not appeal to you, however, they are all affordable and they all beat throwing back Budweiser’s on the couch with a bag of bon bons at your side.

http://www.fitnessanywhere.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=SFNT&AFFIL=dougbalz

http://www.todddurkin.com/my-favorite-piece-of-fitness-equipment/

Create a priority list

It comes down to a matter of priorities. How is it that you manage to brush your teeth everyday, put on your pants everyday, update your Twitter page everyday? I’m not saying you should get rid of these everyday tasks, I’m saying you need to prioritize what is most valuable in your life. Try making a “Priority List” with two columns, 1. “Must have” and 2. “Nice to have”. We could fill these columns with many items, however, just stick with the most time consuming aspects of your day. Writing them down will help you visualize and “see your life” on paper. It will help guide you and make you more time efficient and more focused on your goals.

Sample priority list

MUST HAVE

  • Exercise -> move everyday
  • Nutrition -> prepare and eat healthy meals everyday
  • Education -> learning
  • Family & Friends -> connecting with the people that matter most

NICE TO HAVE

  • Read Boston sports section everyday -> go Sox!
  • Check social media outlets everyday
  • Cake Boss TV Show -> don’t judge me
  • American Idol – TV Show -> I blame my girlfriend

Now, we can further break these down to determine what items take up the most time in our day (Exercise 10%, Cake Boss 25%, etc.). Just writing this sample made me realize that I need to update my priority list. Personally, I need to work on my balance within my “must have” column. I also identified mindless TV as a current “time burglar”. Now I think it’s important to have some “mellow yellow” time, however; there can be some healthier ways to spend that time.

Get your mind right

I used to tell clients there were three main factors in achieving their fitness-related goals; 1. Strength training, 2. Cardiovascular training, and 3. Healthy nutritional habits. I was omitting a 4th, which is ultimately the most important – Mind set. You must get your mind right. If you train the mind, the body will follow. We need to eliminate the excuses and the negativity.

Now, having said all this, I’ll admit that I have bad days…days where I’m just not feeling it. As soon as the excuses creep into my head I chose to overcome them immediately and get some exercise into my day as soon as possible. 100% of the time I will feel better and more energetic after the workout. I can say with confidence that movement is the best medicine for having a stressful day. The ability is inside every one of us right now at this moment. It’s your choice to “take the pill” and GET UP AND MOVE!


About Doug

Doug currently works at Fitness Quest 10 as a personal trainer, strength coach, and Operations Director for Todd Durkin Enterprises (TDE). A Massachusetts native, he earned his Bachelor’s degree in Exercise Science with a minor in Business Management from Westfield State College. Since moving to San Diego he has completed some graduate work in Biomechanics at SDSU, obtained an ACE Personal Trainer certification, the NSCA-CSCS certification, a Spinning certification, TRX instructor training, EFI Gravity instructor training, FMS training, and received his CPR/AED instructor status. He has also appeared in 8 fitness videos, written numerous fitness articles, completed a MMA Conditioning Coach certification program and has competed in multiple grappling tournaments.

Prior to working at Fitness Quest 10, Doug worked for the American Council on Exercise as the Continuing Education Coordinator where he was responsible for managing over 400 continuing education providers.

For more information please visit www.todddurkin.com, www.fq10.com, and www.dbstrength.

Want to use the article above? As long as you include the bio blurb at the bottom, you are welcome to use the article in your own publication.

About kylesands
Director of Marketing at Fitness Quest 10

Leave a Reply

