A Day In The Life As An FQ10 Intern

My name is Adrian Vera and I’m an intern at Fitness Quest 10.  For those of you who don’t know, Fitness Quest 10 was voted as a top 10 gym in America by Men’s Health Magazine 2 years in a row (2009 and 2010).  I will be writing weekly blogs about what my roles and responsibilities are as an “elite” intern, as well as my own personal experiences here at Fitness Quest 10.  I first heard about Fitness Quest 10 from my dad.  He explained to me that this would be a great opportunity for me as someone trying to break into the fitness industry. I began my research on FQ 10 and saw that they trained a different way than other gyms and personal trainers do. Their unique training styles really intrigued me. As I continued my research, I saw more and more clips of professional athletes being trained by the owner of Fitness Quest 10, Todd Durkin.  That really sold me, on the internship because I would get hands-on experience training professional athletes. I applied for the opportunity and got the good news, I was going to San Diego.

My first week was extremely busy, but fun! I walked into work around 8 a.m. and wouldn’t leave until 7 p.m.  The first week was packed with meetings and our schedule the first week was very strict. All the interns first met with Brett Klika, Director of Athletics at Fitness Quest 10.  He is in charge of our team and organized all of the summer camps including FQ10 Elite, Quest 10 Kids and Varsity Speed.  He presented a PowerPoint presentation on how we, as interns, can effectively coach athletes of all levels, from kids to professional athletes.  The next meetings with Brett went over warm-ups, plyometric drills, weight room drills and conditioning drills. The first half of the week felt like a review of my movement anatomy and exercise physiology classes. We learned what muscles are being activated during every stretch and exercise. After that, we met with our co-leader coach Jeff King. It was important for us to get acquainted with Coach Jeff, because he helps oversee all camps and would mentor us about logistics and procedures with all camps. He met with us and explained the Varsity Speed camp, as well as what is expected of us on a daily basis.  The week was only half way done and we still had a lot coming up.

The next day, we met with Coach Chelsea.  She was in charge of the field hockey camp and would explain the in’s and out’s of what to expect during this camp.  While Chelsea is the lead in that camp, all of the interns will have our own players that we will be responsible for. She explained what was expected of us; everything from how to properly instruct, teach and insure that each athlete works hard day in and day out. Later, all the interns met with Todd Durkin and he gave us an inspiring presentation. His overall message was challenge yourself, challenge others around you, and never stop learning. He also gave us tips on what every business needs to be successful. He preached that staff members are important, including interns, because for the summer we represent FQ 10. It was definitely something I won’t forget. The last coach we met was Ryan Burgess.  He is in charge of the football camps at Fitness Quest 10. He explained the procedures and all the protocols on how to run the football camps.

After, we met all the leads we had to observe and participate in classes. During observations, we watch session and see what trainers do during the private training sessions.  This was just another tool s to learn procedures at Fitness Quest 10. The objective of the observing process was to write down notes and questions about how the coach conducts their workouts. All my questions begin with why.  Why they do a certain exercise with their clients and what the coach is looking for. The “why” is important in this field because all workouts and drills should have a purpose. All of the coaches are great when it comes to answering questions.

The definite highlight of my first week was introducing myself to All-Pro DB Charles Tillman. At first, I didn’t know it was him until later. Even though he is an all-pro athlete, he is very humble. He joked around with me and said that I should shadow him all day. It was definitely a fun time.  The first week was fun but the first week was no joke. The interns and I are still getting acclimated to the busy, dynamic Fitness Quest 10 environment. We have to remember all the names, which is tough for me, but by the end of this week I’ll have them down. By the first few days I’ve seen why FQ10 is so successful.  The clients love the energy and excitement here! I feel somewhat overwhelmed at this point, but Brett, Jeff and everyone else at the company have been very helpful.

Last Wednesday was a really great day, because I heard a very inspiring message from one of Fitness Quest 10’s athletes, Gerald McCoy, defensive lineman for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. He took the intern group aside and said (I’m paraphrasing of course):

“I train this way, working extra sets and reps, going hard every rep because this is my life. When I start training I have to turn into this demon so I can reach my highest level. “

He later said, “I don’t want to be the best athlete here, I don’t want to be the best player in the NFL. I’m trying to be the best in the world.”

I think you have to have this demeanor in order to be successful.

This is first of many blogs from me and I’ll post another one really soon. I hope everyone has a great week!

Best,

Adrian Vera, Intern, Fitness Quest 10

About kylesands
Director of Marketing at Fitness Quest 10

One Response to A Day In The Life As An FQ10 Intern

  1. Justin says:

    Great post Adrian! Looking forward to the next one! Best of luck with your internship.

Leave a Reply

